A charging foul in basketball is when the attacking player with the basketball charges into and through their defender. As a result, the defensive player falls back, to sell the call.
What happens when a player takes a charge?
Taking a charge is a big play and can be a momentum changer. It results in a defensive stop, a foul, a change in possession, and makes the offensive player think twice before dribble-driving again.
Do you have to fall for it to be a charge?
The rulebook states that a defender needs to “get his torso directly in the path and beat him to the spot.” However, the notion that a player’s feet must be entirely stationary in order to draw a charge call isn’t really correct. … Instead, it’s about whether the defender’s torso is set in position.
Is a eurostep traveling?
The move is a crafty way to distribute the two steps allocated to a player after he stops dribbling, and it goes right to the edge of being a traveling violation. Anecdotal reports indicate that officials not familiar with the move may call it a traveling violation.
Can you take a charge anywhere in basketball?
The primary defender can take a charge anywhere. But the “help” defender cannot be in the semi-circle. the Restricted Area rules don’t apply at all if the play begins inside the Lower Defensive Box.