When did NBA playoffs go from 5 to 7 games?

Division finals were expanded to best-of-seven in 1958 and division semifinals to best-of-five in 1961.

Is the first round of NBA playoffs 7 games?

Under the NBA’s regular playoff format, the eight teams with the most wins in each conference qualified for the playoffs. … All rounds were best-of-seven series; the series ended when one team won four games, and that team advanced to the next round. All rounds, including the NBA Finals, were in a 2–2–1–1–1 format.

How many NBA Finals have went to Game 7?

Since the inception of the NBA, 134 game sevens have been played. Of those, seven went into overtime, and one into double overtime.


OT Overtime (the number in front indicates the number of overtime periods played, if there were more than one)
^ Indicates game seven in the NBA Finals

Has an 8 seed ever beat a 1 NBA?

Dikembe Mutombo also tallied 31 blocks across the five-game set. It was the first time in NBA history a No. 8 seed had knocked out a No. 1 seed in the first round of the playoffs.

Has a 7 seed ever won NBA?

No team seeded seventh or eighth has ever won the NBA title. In fact, only one team seeded lower than fourth—the 1994-95 Rockets, seeded sixth—has ever lifted the trophy. Since the playoff field expanded to 16 teams in 1984, only one no. 7 seed and one no.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Can you get ripped playing basketball?

Why is the NBA best of 7?

Both conferences conduct the playoffs in the traditional bracket format. All rounds are best-of-seven series. Series are played in the 2–2–1–1–1 format, meaning the team with home-court advantage hosts games 1, 2, 5, and 7, while their opponent hosts games 3, 4, and 6, with games 5, 6 and 7 being played if needed.

What is the lowest seed to win the NBA Finals?

5 Lowest seeds ever to win an NBA championship

  • NBA champions and their seedings in history.
  • No. 3 seed: 2011 Dallas Mavericks (57-25)
  • No. 3 seed: 1973 New York Knicks (57-25)
  • No. 3 seed: 2004 Detroit Pistons (54-28 record)
  • No. 4 seed: 1969 Boston Celtics (48-34 record)
  • No. 6 seed: 1995 Houston Rockets (47-35 record)

Which NBA team has not won a championship?

Among the eight franchises left in the playoff picture, only three of them — the Philadelphia 76ers, Milwaukee Bucks and Atlanta Hawks — have ever won a championship before. The other five teams — the Utah Jazz, Phoenix Suns, Brooklyn Nets, Los Angeles Clippers and Denver Nuggets — have never raised a title banner.

Playing basketball