What NBA team is in California?

Team City Joined
Golden State Warriors (1971–present) San Francisco Warriors (1962–1971) San Francisco, California Oakland, California 1970
Los Angeles Clippers (1984–present) San Diego Clippers (1978–1984) Los Angeles, California San Diego, California 1978
Los Angeles Lakers Los Angeles, California 1970

Does California have 2 NBA teams?

Los Angeles boasts two NBA teams, the Los Angeles Lakers and the Los Angeles Clippers. … The LA Clippers were founded as the Buffalo Braves in 1970; in 1978, the team moved to San Diego and changed the nickname to Clippers; the team re-located from San Diego in 1984.

Does California have the most NBA teams?

California (4 teams)

California has the most NBA teams of any state and some of its most successful ones, too. The LA Lakers are the headline franchise from the state having won their 17th championship title last year in the bubble.

Why does LA have 2 NBA teams?

How did Los Angeles end up with two NBA teams? With the Los Angeles Lakers already present in LA in 1960, it was in 1981, Donald Sterling became the owner of the Clippers and moved the team after a few seasons in 1984 against the NBA’s approval. … Los Angeles is big enough city to easily house two teams.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: Do all NBA players make millions?

Does San Diego have a NBA team?

Basketball. San Diego has had two NBA franchises, the San Diego Rockets and the San Diego Clippers. … The Clippers played in the San Diego Sports Arena from 1978 until 1984. Prior to the start of the 1984–1985 season, the team was controversially moved to Los Angeles, and is now called the Los Angeles Clippers.

What states do not have an NBA team?

Those being: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

What are the 4 NBA teams in California?

The division consists of five teams, the Golden State Warriors, the Los Angeles Clippers, the Los Angeles Lakers, the Phoenix Suns and the Sacramento Kings. All teams, except the Suns, are based in California.


Team Los Angeles Lakers
City Los Angeles, California
Joined Year 1970
From Western Division

Why does California have so many basketball teams?

California has a huge population. So does Texas and Florida. That’s why So many teams, not only in the NBA, but in the NFL and the NHL usually have more than one team in these states. A bigger population mean that there will be more sports fan in a certain area.

Playing basketball