What are the names of the Los Angeles basketball teams?

Los Angeles boasts two NBA teams, the Los Angeles Lakers and the Los Angeles Clippers.

Why does LA have 2 NBA teams?

How did Los Angeles end up with two NBA teams? With the Los Angeles Lakers already present in LA in 1960, it was in 1981, Donald Sterling became the owner of the Clippers and moved the team after a few seasons in 1984 against the NBA’s approval. … Los Angeles is big enough city to easily house two teams.

What cities do not have a NBA team?


St. Louis is the third-largest metro area without an NBA team, after Seattle and San Diego. As Kansas City is the traditional seat of Big Eight basketball, so too is St. Louis with the Missouri Valley Conference.

Does San Diego have a NBA team?

Basketball. San Diego has had two NBA franchises, the San Diego Rockets and the San Diego Clippers. … The Clippers played in the San Diego Sports Arena from 1978 until 1984. Prior to the start of the 1984–1985 season, the team was controversially moved to Los Angeles, and is now called the Los Angeles Clippers.

Which NBA teams are from California?

The division consists of five teams, the Golden State Warriors, the Los Angeles Clippers, the Los Angeles Lakers, the Phoenix Suns and the Sacramento Kings. All teams, except the Suns, are based in California.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  How do you get stains out of basketball jerseys?
Playing basketball