Quick Answer: How many basketball teams are in Arizona?

How many NBA teams does Arizona have?

The city fields teams in all four major professional sports leagues: The NFL’s Arizona Cardinals, NBA’s Phoenix Suns, MLB’s Arizona Diamondbacks and NHL’s Arizona Coyotes. Downtown’s Footprint Center is also home to the WNBA’s Phoenix Mercury and the Indoor Football League’s Arizona Rattlers.

What sport is Arizona known for?

Phoenix is one of only a dozen cities in the U.S. to have MLB, NHL, NFL, and NBA teams— the Diamondbacks, Coyotes, Cardinals, and Suns, in that order. Let’s not forget the WNBA’s Mercury, NASCAR, Cactus League Spring Training, and the Pacific-12’s Sun Devils and Wildcats.

Why does LA have 2 NBA teams?

How did Los Angeles end up with two NBA teams? With the Los Angeles Lakers already present in LA in 1960, it was in 1981, Donald Sterling became the owner of the Clippers and moved the team after a few seasons in 1984 against the NBA’s approval. … Los Angeles is big enough city to easily house two teams.

Does Arizona have a pro basketball team?

National Basketball Association

The Phoenix Suns play in the NBA’s Pacific Division and are the only team not from California in that division. … They were founded in 1968 and play their home games in Talking Stick Resort Arena. They have appeared in two NBA Finals, and lost both.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Who won the 1934 NBA championship?

Is Phoenix a basketball city?

Playing basketball