Frequent question: Who has more NCAA basketball championships Duke or UNC?

North Carolina 6 2017
Duke 5 2015
Indiana 5 1987
Connecticut 4 2014

Why is Duke’s mascot a Blue Devil?

The Duke University Blue Devil originally came from a nickname, “diables bleus” given to chasseurs alpins, an elite mountain warfare infantry unit that gained recognition during World War I for their skills.

How many times has Duke won?

The team won national championships in 1999, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2014, and 2019 as well as 13 consecutive ACC championships from 1995–2008. A number of successful professional golfers have gone through Duke’s program.

Who UNC rival?

The Carolina-Duke rivalry refers to the sports rivalry between the University of North Carolina Tar Heels and Duke University Blue Devils, particularly in the sport of basketball.

How many times has UNC been to the NCAA Tournament?

The Tar Heels have appeared in the NCAA Tournament championship game 11 times, and have been in a record 20 NCAA Tournament Final Fours. The Tar Heels have been selected to the NCAA Tournament 51 times (second-most all-time), and have amassed 126 victories (second most all-time).

Who won the NCAA basketball championship in 2020?

Here are the programs which have won the NCAA men’s basketball championship:

Year Champion (Record) Score
2020 Canceled due to Covid-19
2019 Virginia (35-3) 85-77 (OT)
2018 Villanova (36-4) 79-62
2017 North Carolina (33-7) 71-65
THIS IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: Which NBA duo has most championships?
Playing basketball