Frequent question: How many times was Kobe Bryant All Star MVP?

Bob Pettit (1956, 1958, 1959 1962,) and Kobe Bryant (2002, 2007, 2009, 2011) have both won NBA All-Star Game MVP a record four times. Pettit and Bryant are two of 14 players to have won the award more than once.

Who has won the most All-Star MVPS?

Why did Kobe only get 1 MVP?

Kobe’s MVP years were 2008–2011 where he was still in his prime and also had a great team. He won only once during this time because there were players more deserving than him in 2009, 2010 and 2011.

Has there ever been an MVP who wasn’t an all-star?

In the 57 years the All-Star game has happened, the MVP was either in the game, or voted in. On the “voted in” note. Another MVP didn’t suit up for an All-Star game: Magic Johnson in 1989. He received the most votes of any western player and the 2nd most votes behind Michael Jordan but sat due to injury.

Why does Shaq only have 1 MVP?

Shaq was not as good a player as Jordan, and his team, the Lakers, was not as good as the Bulls. It’s no reflection on Shaq that he won only one MVP. Kobe also won only one MVP. It’s just that here was a lot of competition from other outstanding players.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Who scored the most points in a women's college basketball game?

Did Kobe deserve 2008 MVP?

No, Kobe did not deserve the MVP award. Kobe finished 4th in the voting, after Nash, LeBron and Dirk. Kobe led the league in scoring, but the voters were more impressed not only with Nash, the winner, but also LeBron and Dirk.

Was Kobe robbed of MVP?

Don’t worry, Mamba maniacs. Nobody is suggesting that Kobe shouldn’t have an MVP award. He just happened to win the wrong one. As we’ve established, his 2006 trophy was stolen by Nash, so this one was given in its place as a lifetime achievement award.

What years was Kobe an All-Star?

He was selected to play in the NBA All-Star Game on 18 occasions, winning All-Star MVP Awards in 2002, 2007, 2009, and 2011 (he shared the 2009 award with Shaquille O’Neal). The award would be named after him in 2020. He also won the NBA Slam Dunk Contest as well as the Rookie Game scoring title in 1997.

Has there ever been an MVP on a team that didn’t make the playoffs?

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar is the only one who has won the MVP award without his team making the playoffs in 1975-76 season. Lakers were 40-42 (.

Playing basketball