Taking more than two steps with control of the ball is considered a travel, so in this case, three steps is a travel. Oftentimes a player will catch the ball while taking a step but not have full control of it and then take two more steps for a layup or dunk, this is legal.
Why can NBA players take 3 steps?
Simply put, it looks like 3 steps, but the first step is a gather step, nba players are really good at using it ant it looks like they are taking 3 steps, for example many people think that Hardens stepback is a travel, sometimes it is, but mostly he is using a gather step.
Can you take 2 steps without dribbling?
The definition of a travel is when a player illegally moves one or both feet. If a player takes three steps or more before dribbling, or changes pivot foot, it’s a traveling violation. That means a player can take two steps before he has to dribble.
Can you step back without dribbling?
In the NBA the player may still use either foot to pivot, this can give the look of a player being allowed to take two steps, but the no rule book phrases it that way. These same rules apply when catching the ball after dribbling or “picking up your dribble”. So no, you cannot take 4 steps without dribbling the ball.
Does the NBA call carries?
this is why NBA rules are different from FIBA rules. by not calling carry, players can perform spectacular moves that are hugely entertaining to watch.
Why is eurostep not a travel?
The move is a crafty way to distribute the two steps allocated to a player after he stops dribbling, and it goes right to the edge of being a traveling violation. Anecdotal reports indicate that officials not familiar with the move may call it a traveling violation.
Who travels the most in the NBA?
Random Stat: Who Travels the Most?
Does LeBron travel?
On Wednesday, LeBron James committed a blatant travel that went uncalled, much to the bemusement of the Utah Jazz and their fans and the amusement of the NBA world. In the first quarter, James brought the ball past half-court, picked up his dribble with one hand, took several steps, then resumed dribbling.
How many steps can you take before a layup?
What is a Layup? Here’s the general definition most coaches would use: “A layup is the action of a player dribbling towards the hoop, taking two steps, and then laying the basketball into the hoop off the backboard.”
Is it travel if you slide in basketball?
Traveling (part 2): Player dives across the floor to gather in a loose ball and slides several feet once control of the ball is attained. By rule, this is not a travel. There are restrictions on what the player can and cannot do while in control and laying on the floor.
How many seconds can you hold the ball for without dribbling or moving?
Five-second back to the basket violation
In the NBA, a player in the frontcourt, below the free throw line extended, is not permitted to dribble the ball with his back or side to the basket for more than five seconds. A count ends when: Player picks up his dribbling.