What is it called when a person dribbles with both hands at the same time in basketball?

basketball : an illegal action that happens when a player dribbles the ball with two hands at the same time or starts to dribble again after stopping. See the full definition for double dribble in the English Language Learners Dictionary. Comments on double dribble.

What happens if a player dribbles with both hands?

A dribble ends when the player touches the ball with both hands simultaneously or permits the ball to come to rest in one or both hands. The ball being touched with both hands simultaneously (dribble with both hands) is a double dribble.

Can you dribble the basketball with both hands at the same time?

Nothing in the rulebook that says a player cannot start a dribble with two hands. A dribble can end when touching both hands simultaneously, but a single dribble is OK as long as you catch the ball. There is no prohibition in the rules about starting a dribble with both hands.

Can you dribble again if someone touches the ball?

A player may not dribble a second time after he has voluntarily ended his first dribble. … A pass or fumble which touches his backboard, basket ring or is touched by another player. PENALTY: Loss of ball.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Did Michael Jordan get married?

Why is double dribbling illegal?

A double dribble in basketball is a personal violation given to a player that either uses two hands to dribble, or stops with the ball and starts dribbling again. It is a dead ball turnover, meaning the opposing team gets the ball out of bounds wherever the infraction occurred.

What is it called when you move your feet without dribbling the basketball?

In basketball, traveling is a violation of the rules that occurs when a player holding the ball moves one or both their feet illegally. … In the NBA and FIBA, players are also given a “gather step”. When a player has taken more than 2 steps without the ball being dribbled, a traveling violation is called.

Can you dribble a basketball over your shoulder?

A player can dribble over his/her shoulders and head as long as the dribble is not discontinued.

Can you take 2 steps without dribbling?

The definition of a travel is when a player illegally moves one or both feet. If a player takes three steps or more before dribbling, or changes pivot foot, it’s a traveling violation. That means a player can take two steps before he has to dribble.

Is it a travel if the defender touches the ball?

If, in this situation, the shooter loses control of the ball because of the block, then this is simply a blocked shot and play continues. If, in this situation, the defender simply touches the ball, and the airborne shooter returns to the floor holding the ball, it’s a traveling violation.

Can you step back without dribbling?

In the NBA the player may still use either foot to pivot, this can give the look of a player being allowed to take two steps, but the no rule book phrases it that way. These same rules apply when catching the ball after dribbling or “picking up your dribble”. So no, you cannot take 4 steps without dribbling the ball.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: What is the best duo in the NBA right now?
Playing basketball