Best answer: What is considered a double dribble in basketball?

: an illegal action in basketball made when a player dribbles the ball with two hands simultaneously or continues to dribble after allowing the ball to come to rest in one or both hands.

What counts as a double dribble in basketball?

In basketball, an illegal dribble (colloquially called a double dribble or dribbling violation) occurs when a player ends their dribble by catching or causing the ball to come to rest in one or both hands and then dribbles it again with one hand or when a player touches it before the ball hits the ground.

What are the 2 types of double dribble?

Double dribble: dribbling with two hands at the same time or stopping dribbling and then starting again. Traveling: walking or running without dribbling the basketball. Carrying: turning the ball over in your hand to make it easier to control or dribbling above shoulder.

Do they call double dribble in NBA?

If you lose focus for even a second, you could break the rules of dribbling. … The sign for double dribbling is called the “illegal dribble” sign in the rule book. Under NBA rules, the ball is awarded to the opposing team at the nearest spot, but no closer to the baseline than the free throw line extended.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Is crowd noise played in basketball stadium?

Nothing in the rulebook that says a player cannot start a dribble with two hands. A dribble can end when touching both hands simultaneously, but a single dribble is OK as long as you catch the ball. There is no prohibition in the rules about starting a dribble with both hands.

A player shall not kick the ball or strike it with the fist. Kicking the ball or striking it with any part of the leg is a violation when it is an intentional act. The ball accidentally striking the foot, the leg or fist is not a violation.

Why is double dribbling bad?

Also, If double dribbling was allowed; stealing the ball would become nearly impossible. Using two hands to dribble would make dribbling easier and more stable; trying to steal the ball with this increased stability, would be nearly impossible.

Is a double dribble a travel?

You cannot move your pivot foot or lift it off of the ground. If you do, this is called traveling. You only get to dribble once in basketball. … If you start dribbling again, this is called double dribbling.

What is it called when you use 2 hands to dribble?

: an illegal action in basketball made when a player dribbles the ball with two hands simultaneously or continues to dribble after allowing the ball to come to rest in one or both hands.

What’s the 3 second rule in basketball?

The O3 rule states that an offensive player cannot be in the lane for more than three seconds while his team has control of the ball.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What are the TV ratings for the NBA Finals?

What is the 10 second rule in basketball?

The NBA rulebook says a player has 10 seconds to shoot a free throw after receiving the ball from the official. If he takes more than 10 seconds, he is in violation of league rules, and is thus penalized. The opponent gets possession.

How long can you hold a basketball without dribbling?

A player shall not hold the ball for 5 seconds or dribble the ball for five seconds while closely guarded. A player is considered to be closely guarded if they have control of the ball in the front court, and is guarded by an opponent who is within 6 feet of the player with possession.

Can you dribble a basketball over your shoulder?

A player can dribble over his/her shoulders and head as long as the dribble is not discontinued.

Playing basketball