Best answer: Can you get up off the ground in the NBA?

Legal play, Player fumbles ball into air and recovers it Legal Play, Player gets up off the floor with the ball. … When in possession of the ball while on the floor, an offensive player is permitted to stand up, establish a pivot foot and resume play.

Can you dribble from the ground?

You could also catch a pass while airborne and start a dribble before any foot touched the floor. A pivot foot does not need to be established before a dribble starts. Additionally, a standing player who catches the ball with both feet on the floor isn’t required to pivot before being permitted to dribble.

Is getting up with the ball a travel?

When flat on his or her back, the player may sit up without violating. When the player puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is the first to touch the ball, it also is traveling. When a player rises to his or her feet while holding the ball, it is traveling.

Can you take 3 steps in the NBA?

Taking more than two steps with control of the ball is considered a travel, so in this case, three steps is a travel. Oftentimes a player will catch the ball while taking a step but not have full control of it and then take two more steps for a layup or dunk, this is legal.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  How many times has Kentucky beat Louisville in basketball?

Is it bad to kick a basketball?

Kicking the ball or striking it with any part of the leg is a violation when it is an intentional act. The ball accidentally striking the foot, the leg or fist is not a violation. A player may not use any part of his leg to intentionally move or secure the ball.

Can you catch your own airball NBA?

1. “You can’t rebound your own airball!” Yes, you can. It doesn’t matter whether your shot hits the rim, the backboard, or just air molecules — as long as its an intentional shot, you can be the first person to touch it on a rebound.

Is it a travel if the defender touches the ball?

If, in this situation, the shooter loses control of the ball because of the block, then this is simply a blocked shot and play continues. If, in this situation, the defender simply touches the ball, and the airborne shooter returns to the floor holding the ball, it’s a traveling violation.

Can you jump before dribbling?

Can you jump than dribble in basketball? No, You can not jump, then dribble. Once you lift your pivot foot off the ground, you must either shoot or pass the ball. Usually, this happens because you are going up to shoot the ball and realize that you are about to get your shot blocked so you decide to dribble.

Can you jump while dribbling the ball?

You cannot jump while you are dribbling. Once your pivot foot is off the ground, you must either pass or shoot the ball. This happens when players try to shot the ball but realized that their shots will be blocked by an opponent, so they decide to dribble instead.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: Who got the 1st pick NBA?

Can you step back without dribbling?

In the NBA the player may still use either foot to pivot, this can give the look of a player being allowed to take two steps, but the no rule book phrases it that way. These same rules apply when catching the ball after dribbling or “picking up your dribble”. So no, you cannot take 4 steps without dribbling the ball.

Is sliding on the floor a travel?

Traveling (part 2): Player dives across the floor to gather in a loose ball and slides several feet once control of the ball is attained. By rule, this is not a travel. There are restrictions on what the player can and cannot do while in control and laying on the floor.

Playing basketball