What happens if the ball hits the line in basketball?

A throw-in which touches the floor, or any object on or outside the boundary line, or touches anything above the playing surface is a violation. The ball must be thrown directly inbounds. … PENALTY: Violation of this rule is loss of possession, and the ball must be inbounded at the previous spot of the throw-in.

What happens if you dribble the ball on the end line?

The ball can be bounced along the endline OOB since by definition a throw-in is a pass INTO the court. The bounces OOB are just bounces, and no rule excludes passes/bounces that don’t go INTO the court.

Is the ball in bounds if it hits the line?

The ball is out of bounds when it touches any surface, object, or ground outside the court. A BALL TOUCHING THE BOUNDARY LINE IS GOOD! The ball must pass over or between the side boundary lines as it crosses the net.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Is Kobe Bryant in the Hall of Fame?

What is the penalty for stepping on the line in basketball?

If a player is to step on the line or dribble past it, then it is considered a backcourt violation and is a turnover to the other team.

Can the ball touch the boundary line in basketball?

A player shall not run with the ball without dribbling it. A player in control of a dribble who steps on or outside a boundary line, even though not touching the ball while on or outside that boundary line, shall not be allowed to return inbounds and continue his dribble.

Nothing in the rulebook that says a player cannot start a dribble with two hands. A dribble can end when touching both hands simultaneously, but a single dribble is OK as long as you catch the ball. There is no prohibition in the rules about starting a dribble with both hands.

Why is double dribbling illegal?

A double dribble in basketball is a personal violation given to a player that either uses two hands to dribble, or stops with the ball and starts dribbling again. It is a dead ball turnover, meaning the opposing team gets the ball out of bounds wherever the infraction occurred.

How many seconds can you hold the ball without dribbling moving passing or shooting?

5 second rule

On an inbound pass, a player may only hold on the ball for a maximum of 5 seconds. In the game, if a player is closely guarded, they must start dribbling, passing the ball or attempting a shot within five seconds.

Is a serve in if it hits the line?

A ball landing on any part of the line is good. A ball obviously going out and still played is considered in play. A bad toss on your serve can be caught and re-tossed without penalty. A ball may bounce no more than one and still be considered in play.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: How much does the CEO of an NBA team make?

When the ball touches the antenna it means?

A ball is out if it hits the antenna or if it crosses the net outside of the antenna. If during a volley, the ball hits the gym divider, ductwork, or ceiling/rafters, and comes back to the team that hit it, they may continue to play it, as long as they are still within their 3 hit maximum.

Can you fake a free throw in basketball?

The free throw shooter shall not purposely fake a free throw attempt. … If the free throw attempt is to remain in play, the opposing team shall inbound on either sideline at the free throw line extended. If the free throw attempt is not to remain in play, then play will continue from that point.

Is stepping on someone’s foot a foul in basketball?

If stepping on their foot impedes their forward progress, it is a foul. If they were not in attempt of a shot, is a regular foul, and if they were going for a shot, it’s a shooting foul.

Is Catching your own airball a travel?

Surprisingly, no, it’s not traveling anywhere except the NBA. … Catching your own airball is allowed if it was a legitimate shot unless you’re playing your pickup game according to NBA rules, which makes you a douchebag.

Can you take 3 steps in the NBA?

Taking more than two steps with control of the ball is considered a travel, so in this case, three steps is a travel. Oftentimes a player will catch the ball while taking a step but not have full control of it and then take two more steps for a layup or dunk, this is legal.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Who won the first basketball gold medal?

Can you step back without dribbling?

In the NBA the player may still use either foot to pivot, this can give the look of a player being allowed to take two steps, but the no rule book phrases it that way. These same rules apply when catching the ball after dribbling or “picking up your dribble”. So no, you cannot take 4 steps without dribbling the ball.

Playing basketball